2020 Estrella Trial Advocacy Competition (ETAC)

Press Release Sixth Edition of the Estrella Trial Advocacy Competition

6th Estrella Trial Advocacy Competition (ETAC)

Estrella, LLC and George Washington University Law School announce their 6th edition of the Estrella Trial Advocacy Competition (ETAC) to be held on April 4 & 5, 2020, in San Juan, Puerto Rico.
“Following our founder’s footsteps, Estrella, LLC is proud to host this competition to allow students to develop their litigation skills in a real courtroom scenario. We are excited to announce that this year we have a record of 18 law schools participating from the U.S. and Puerto Rico,” said Alberto G. Estrella, Managing Member of Estrella, LLC. “As we open up the competition to more schools, we know we are continuing our firm’s mission of giving back to the legal community through this competition,” Estrella further added.
ETAC will begin on April 4th with the preliminary rounds to be held at the Clemente Nazario Federal Courthouse in Hato Rey. The final rounds will take place on April 5th at the Old San Juan Federal Court House, where the winner of the competition will be announced.

During the competition, student will have the opportunity to present evidence, conduct direct and cross-examinations, and argue their cases before a jury composed of judges. This event allows the students to put their law school training and knowledge to the test, by preparing and presenting a civil torts case before a panel of experienced trial attorneys. At the end of each session, the panel will provide feedback to the students to further the development their professional careers.

The 18 law schools participating in ETAC this year are (in alphabetical order): American University Washington College of Law, Brooklyn Law School, Chapman University (Fowler School of Law), Emory University School of Law, Fordham University School of Law, George Washington University Law School, Harvard Law School, Louisiana State University Paul M. Hebert Law Center, Pace Law School, University at Buffalo School of Law, University of California, Berkeley, University of Colorado Law School, University of Florida, University of North Carolina School of Law, University of Pennsylvania Law School, University of Puerto Rico School of Law, University of Virginia and William & Mary Law School.